Local Government Minister presents to Parliament Instruments for additional districts

| Updated Nov 16, 2017 at 3:59pm


Hajia Alima Mahama.


The Minister of Local Government and Rural Development, Hajia Alima Mahama, has presented to parliament a Legislative Instrument for the creation of thirty-eight new districts.

Fifty-six existing sub metropolitan areas are also to re-aligned or elevated to municipal status.

This will bring the number of districts to 254 when the LI is passed into law. Some of the new districts are Ahafo Ano South West, Ahafo Ano South East, Gomoa Central, Gomoa East, Asene Manso, Bolga East, Garu District and Tempane District.

The others are Ablekuma West , Ayawaso West and Ayawaso North.

Speaking to the media after the she presented the papers, Hajia Mahama said budgetary allocations have been made to cater for the new districts.

She added that provisions have been made to benefit from governments one district one factory flagship program.