Parliament approves five Ministerial Nominees, Otiko Djaba deferred

| Updated Mar 29, 2017 at 10:00pm



Parliament has by consensus approved five Ministerial Nominees.

The House however deferred the approval of the nominee for the Gender, Children and Social Protection Otiko Afisa Djaba to February 7.

She was recommended for approval by a majority decision.

The Minority opposed the approval of Madam Otiko Afisa Djaba on grounds that she did not do National Service; she hasn’t got the requisite temperament to head the Ministry.

The Minority was also unhappy about her unsavory description of Former President Mahama.

Presenting the report of the Appointments Committee for approval the Chairman of the Committee, Joseph Osei-Owusu said the five nominees have during their vetting proved their capabilities in executing the tasks in the various Ministries they are to man and recommends them for approval.

The Minority Leader, Haruna Iddrisu said his side was unable to join in the approval of the Gender Children and Social Protection Otiko Afisa Djaba because she lacks what it takes to take care of children, women and the vulnerable.

The Majority Leader Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu spoke about what the Constitution says about the qualification of Ministers of State adding that reference to the demeanor and temperament of a nominee should not be the main.

The Approved Ministers are Dr Anthony Akoto Osei for Monitoring and Evaluation, Dan Kweku Botwe for Regional Reorganization and Development, Samuel Atta Akyea for Works and Housing.

The rest are Ignatius Baffour-Awuah for Employment and Labour Relations, John Peter Amewu for Lands and Natural Resources.