President Akufo-Addo Inaugurates 9-Member Commission of Inquiry For New Regions

| Updated Oct 19, 2017 at 3:10pm


President Akufo-Addo with a member of the Commission, Maulvi Bin Salih Head of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Mission.


President Akufo-Addo with Justice Brobbey Chairperson of the Commission of Inquiry.
President Akufo-Addo with the members of the Commission of Enquiry.
President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has asked the public to ignore publications about the suggested names for the citing of regional capitals in the proposed new regions.

He said there has not been a predetermined names of the proposed regions and citing of the regional capitals since the remit lies with the commission.

President Akufo-Addo made the statement when he inaugurated a nine member Commission of Enquiry into the creation of new regions.

The Commission chaired by a retired supreme court Justice Allan Brobbey has six months to submit it's report to the President.

Other members include Former Government Statistician, Dr. Grace Bediako, Ameer, Missionary in charge of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Mission in Ghana, Mauvi Mohammed Bin Salih, Former Vice Chancellor of KNUST, Prof. Kwasi Kwafo Adarkwa.

The rest are Local government Expert, Gladys Naadu Tetteh, Retired Director of Education Robert Ajene, Senior Research Fellow, University of Ghana, Dr. David Wellington Essaw, Research Fellow at ISSER, Prof George I wish and legal practitioner Josephine Hughes.

The Commission of Enquiry in CI 105 will make recommendation to the president base on it's finding and specify the issues for the basis of the referendum.

President Akufo-Addo said the need for the creation of the new regions is purely demand driven.

He said the creation of the new region have the endorsement of the three former presidents and the two major political parties the NPP and NDC since it was captured in the manifesto of both parties.

President Akufo-Addo was optimistic that commission has the quality to execute the mandate given them.

He said the government has not suggested names for the proposed region.

NPP in the run up to the 2016 elections promised to create new regions to the existing 10.

The government took the first step by referring the various petitions for the creation of the new regions to the Council of State.

The inauguration of the Committee is a follow up to a recommendation by the Council which unanimously endorsed the creation of the new regions early this year.

The proposed regions will be carved out of the Volta, northern, Western and Bono-Ahafo regions.